Breaking News:E-filing Commences for Non Essential Matters

Today, Chief Administrative Judge Lawrence Marks issued an Administrative Order implementing the memorandum which permits the filing of new non-essential matters through NYSCEF even in counties that have not yet reopened.
Commencement of new matters are now allowed in all counties per order AO-114-20. The dates we can start e-filing range from May 18th to May 26th in courts, and case types approved for electronic filing. Represented parties must commence new matters, or proceed in pending matters, exclusively by electronic filing through NYSCEF.

This memorandum does not address the Lower Courts.

It is important to note: The Governor has not eased the restrictions on commerce imposed due to the COVID-19 health emergency in all regions. However, this does to a large extent bring the Legal System in NY to a point where new cases can be brought to court.

Counties Effective Date by Region to E-FIle New Cases
May 18, 2020
Finger Lakes: Orleans, Monroe, Wayne, Genesee, Wyoming, Livingston, Ontario, Yates, and Seneca.
Mohawk Valley: Herkimer, Oneida, Otsego, Fulton, Montgomery, and Schoharie.
Southern Tier: Steuben, Schuyler, Chemung, Tompkins, Tioga, Broome, Chenango, and Delaware.
May 20, 2020
Western New York: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, and Niagara.
May 21, 2020
North Country: Clinton, Franklin, St. Lawrence, Jefferson, Lewis, Hamilton, and Essex. Central New York: Oswego, Cayuga, Cortland, Onondaga, and Madison.
May 25,2020
Mid-Hudson: Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, and Westchester New York City: New York, Bronx, Queens, Kings, and Richmond. Long Island: Nassau and Suffolk.
May 26, 2020
Capital Region: Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren, and Washington.